Quesadilla recipe and what I ate yesturday 🍌🍏🌽🌵

A few people have asked me what I eat on a daily basis so I will try document my food one day a week. I also made yummy quesadillas for tea, Macie loved these too!

Breakfast was a bowl of Harvest Morn porridge oats mixed with almond milk and warmed in the microwave. I added a few bluberries and a bit of agave nectar instead of syrup but you
could always add good quailty natural honey instead!

image

I also had a Mocha coffee from the Aldi range as my one caffeine drink of the day. Trying to limit the caffiene with me being pregnant.

Snack:
In between breakfast and lunch I grabbed a green apple and a few almonds before I left for work. The combination of sugar and protein works well.

Lunch:
I popped a soup in a container for work and warmed it up inbetween my clients. This one is from Aldi again, tastes good and was quite filling with the chicken. I ate about 2/3 of the pot.

image

Snack:
Had a quick afternoon snack of one of my Chocolate Almond Protein Bites and a glass of orange and carrot juice that I picked up ready made at Marks and Spencer…mmm mmm!!
image

I also had the rest of these wholewheat honey barbeque snacks from Marks and Spencer too.
image

Dinner:

I wasn’t massively hungry when I got home and wanted something light as it was getting late. So I made some Quesadillas from Corn tortillas, spinach, cheese and some tomato puree I had in the cupboards. They were so yummy I would definitely make them again. Easy, quick and not too bad for you! Here is my recipe below…
image

Ingredients:

1/2 cup grated cheese (I use catherdral’s mature chedder as you don’t need to use as much if the cheese is mature or strong; you still get the flavour without as much fat)

1 handful of spinach

2 corn tortillas

2 tsp tomato puree

coconut oil or fry light to cook with
image

Directions:

Place your tortilla down and on half of it add 1 tsp tomato puree, 1/2 the spinach and 1/2 the cheese. Fold over the tortilla and add the coconut oil to the pan. Keep to a medium heat so that you don’t burn the tortilla. Place in the pan and fry for around 1 minute each side. Repeat with other tortilla and serve.
image

image

I also found this online about the pros and cons of corn tortillas rather than wheat. Corn wins!
image

I had these on their own as I was cooking for just myself last night. But you could make more and add different fillings or serve with a side salad for a more filling dish. If you make these (which you must) then let me know what you think! Other options for fillings would be a good suggestion too. I am really into Spinach at the moment as you can probably tell. It’s an amazing superfood; there is a reason why Popeye always ate it when he needed strength!

Hope this helps the people that have asked what I usually eat. This was quite a light day as I didn’t do much exercise, I only took Macie for a quick 2 mile powerwalk in her pushchair so usually on the days I go to the gym or workout hard I eat a lot more protein and larger meals. But this is quite an average non exercise day of food for me. Each day changes and it is harder now I am growing each day being nearly halfway through my second pregnancy; I need to eat more and more frequently and each day can change in appetite. My general rule is 3 meals a day and 2 to 3 snacks a day and that keeps me from feeling hungry but everyone is different! Sometimes it may help to use a food diary to see exactly what you do put in your body daily and from there you can see what you need to add or take out of your diet. We are not always very honest with ourselves and can easily forget those few biscuits with that cup of tea in the morning or that mid afternoon snack on sweets. Try a food diary and see if that can help you reach your weight loss or management goals. A good app for counting calories is My Fitness Pal. Download this to your phone and each time you eat throughout the day add it to your fitness pal diary. It will add up the calorie content for you and help you to work out on average how many calories you need to consume daily to either lose weight or maintain depending on your goal.

642134418514521110215

Leave a comment